Search form

Task Force

The charge of UNT’s 23-member Campus Carry Task Force was to review the rules, regulations and procedures related to Senate Bill 11 and recommend a draft campus carry policy to President Smatresk.

Appointed by President Smatresk in September 2015, UNT’s task force also reviewed best practices, researched crime statistics for concealed handgun license holders and consulted with other Texas institutions as part of its work. The UNT System Board of Regents reviewed and accepted UNT's Campus Carry Policy in February 2016.

After acceptance of the policy, the university will provide training so that UNT community members can respond in a new campus environment that allows for concealed handguns. The training will be added to the Campus Safety and Security Seminars series, which is offered each semester.



  • Eric Fritsch, Chair and Professor of Criminal Justice in the College of Public Affairs and Community Service
  • Administrative Support: Abbie Huzarevich, Administrative Services Office of the President

Student Representatives

  • Adam Alattry, President of the Student Government Association
  • Christopher Lee, Vice President of the Student Government Association
  • James Dale, Graduate Student Council

Faculty Senate Representative

  • Jesse Eschbach, Professor of Keyboard Studies in the College of Music

Staff Senate Representative

  • Donald Noska, Administrative Assistant to the Chair of the Department of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology

Police Representative

  • Ed Reynolds, Chief of the UNT Police Department

Risk/Emergency Management Representative

  • Brad Scott, Director of Emergency Preparedness and Insurance Management 

Legal Representative

  • Renaldo Stowers, Office of General Counsel
  • Dolly Garcia, Office of General Counsel

Human Resource Representative

  • Brandi Renton, Director of UNT Human Resources

Diversity Representative

  • Damian Torres, Assistant Director of the Multicultural Center

Athletics Representative

  • Mike Ashbaugh, Senior Associate Athletic Director for Business Operations

Academic Affairs Representative

  • Finley Graves, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Student Affairs Representatives

  • Elizabeth With, Vice President of Student Affairs
  • Maureen McGuinness, Dean of Students and Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
  • James Fairchild Jr., Associate Director of Housing Operations
  • Zane Reif, Director of the University Union, Gateway Center and UNT Coliseum

Finance and Administration Representatives

  • Randy Fite, Director of Facilities Maintenance
  • Darlene Callahan, Director of Space Management and Planning

Communications Representatives

  • Kelley Reese, Associate Vice President for University Relations, Communications and Marketing
  • Margarita Venegas, Interim News Manager for University Relations, Communications and Marketing